Non GamStop Pay by Phone Casinos: A 2026 Market Overview
Pay by phone deposits at casinos outside the GamStop self-exclusion scheme occupy a narrow but measurable slice of the UK-facing gambling market. This overview sets out licensing structures, deposit mechanics, operator data and regulatory constraints as they stand in early 2026, without promotional framing.
Market Definition and Regulatory Context
What qualifies as a non GamStop pay by phone casino?
Non GamStop casinos are gambling sites accessible to UK players that do not participate in the national GamStop self-exclusion register. Pay by phone refers to deposit methods where the amount is charged to a mobile bill or deducted from prepaid credit rather than routed through a bank card.
Which licence covers these operators?
Operators in this category predominantly hold licences issued by the Malta Gaming Authority (MGA), Curaçao eGaming, the Kahnawake Gaming Commission or the Anjouan Offshore Gaming Authority. A minority hold a UK Gambling Commission (UKGC) licence but exclude certain payment methods or game types from UK-facing operation.
Under UK law, any operator transacting with British consumers and offering real-money wagering requires a UKGC licence or an exemption. The Gambling Act 2005, as amended by the Gambling (Licensing and Advertising) Act 2014, extends this requirement to remote operators advertising in Great Britain. Non GamStop sites advertising to UK players without such a licence operate in a legally contested position, a fact rarely stated in their promotional copy.
How large is this market segment?
Hard figures for offshore pay-by-phone casinos are not published by any regulator. The closest verifiable anchor is the UKGC's 2024 statistics on the British remote gambling sector, which recorded 26.3 million active accounts and £14.7 billion gross gambling yield across licensed operators. Offshore volumes are estimated only indirectly through payment processor reporting and advertising spend.
What payment rails are actually used?
Pay by phone in this context covers three distinct rails: direct carrier billing via Boku, Payforit or Fortumo; SMS-based voucher purchase; and wallet top-ups through services like MuchBetter or MiFinity funded by mobile credit. Each rail has different fee structures, deposit ceilings and know-your-customer triggers.
| Payment rail | Typical max deposit | Fee to player | KYC trigger |
|---|---|---|---|
| Boku carrier billing | £30 per transaction | 0% | At £250 cumulative |
| Payforit | £30 per transaction | 0% | At registration |
| SMS voucher (e.g. Neosurf) | £250 per voucher | 2–5% spread | At redemption above £500 |
| MuchBetter wallet | £2,500 per day | 1.4% withdrawal | At first withdrawal |
| MiFinity e-wallet | £1,000 per transaction | 1.8% deposit | At account verification |
| Paysafecard (mobile purchase) | £250 per code | 2.9% retail markup | At redemption above £1,000 |
The £30 ceiling on direct carrier billing is not a casino-imposed limit. It is set by the Phone-paid Services Authority (PSA), which regulates premium-rate and carrier-billed services in the United Kingdom. Any site advertising £500 pay-by-phone deposits is describing a voucher or wallet route, not direct billing.
Operator Landscape in 22026
Which brands dominate offshore phone-deposit traffic?
Traffic data from Similarweb and Semrush for the fourth quarter of 2025 shows a stable top tier. Bet365 casino and William Hill casino operate under UKGC licences and therefore participate in GamStop, placing them outside this segment. The brands below hold offshore licences and accept mobile-billed deposits.
| Operator | Licence | Pay by phone method | Welcome offer (Feb 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|
| MyStake | Curaçao 8048/JAZ | Boku, MuchBetter | 150% up to £500 |
| Goldenbet | Curaçao 8048/JAZ | Boku, MiFinity | 100% up to £500 + 50 spins |
| Donbet | Curaçao 8048/JAZ | Payforit, MuchBetter | 120% up to £600 |
| NineWin | Anjouan ALSI-2024-0912 | Boku | 100% up to £450 |
| Velobet | Curaçao 8048/JAZ | MiFinity, Paysafecard | 150% up to £1,000 |
| Rolletto | Curaçao 8048/JAZ | Boku, SMS voucher | 100% up to £500 |
| Fat Pirate | Curaçao 8048/JAZ | Payforit | 100% up to £500 |
| Kinghills | MGA/MGA/2023/17 | Boku, MuchBetter | 100% up to £300 |
| Donbet sister: Seven Casino | Curaçao 8048/JAZ | MiFinity | 200% up to £1,000 |
| Robocat | Curaçao 8048/JAZ | Boku | 100% up to £400 |
By contrast, the UKGC-licensed cohort in the same list, including Sky Bet casino, Ladbrokes casino, Paddy Power casino, Coral casino, Betfred casino, Gala Bingo, Sky Vegas casino, Betfair casino, BoyleSports casino and Virgin Games casino, all block carrier-billed deposits. Their payment pages accept debit cards, PayPal, Apple Pay and open-banking transfers only.
Why do UKGC brands exclude mobile billing?
The UKGC's licence condition 5.1.2 requires operators to offer at least one deposit method that does not depend on credit. Carrier billing is treated as credit-adjacent because the charge appears on a monthly phone bill. Combined with the regulator's 2020 stake and affordability review, mobile billing was quietly dropped by most British-licensed brands between 2019 and 2021.
William Hill casino removed Boku in 2020. Ladbrokes casino and Coral casino followed within the same financial year. Sky Bet casino had already restricted it to sportsbook accounts before withdrawal. The pattern is consistent: where the UKGC audits payment flows, carrier billing disappears.
What game providers do offshore phone-deposit sites carry?
Provider coverage is broader than many assume. MyStake, Goldenbet and Donbet all list Pragmatic Play, NetEnt, Microgaming (via Games Global), Evolution, Hacksaw Gaming, Nolimit City, Push Gaming, Play'n GO and Relax Gaming. Live dealer lobbies run on Evolution tables plus Pragmatic Play Live and, increasingly, Playtech's live studios.
The practical consequence is that the game catalogue at an offshore pay-by-phone casino overlaps heavily with a UKGC-licensed one. Titles like Big Bass Bonanza, Starburst, Sweet Bonanza and Crazy Time appear on both. The differences sit in return-to-player settings permitted by each licence, withdrawal processing and dispute resolution routes.
How fast are withdrawals at these operators?
Published payout times for February 2026: NineWin processes e-wallet withdrawals within 24 hours, Goldenbet within 48 hours, MyStake within 24–72 hours. Velobet quotes 1–3 business days. Rolletto publishes 0–24 hours for crypto and 3–5 days for bank transfer. None of these figures include pending periods, which typically run 24–48 hours before processing begins.
Deposit Mechanics and Cost Analysis
What does a £20 deposit actually cost the player?
Direct carrier billing passes the full amount to the operator. The mobile network takes no cut from the player's side. Voucher and wallet routes do carry costs: a £20 Neosurf voucher bought at retail carries a markup of roughly 4–7%, while MuchBetter deposits are free but withdrawals incur a 1.4% fee capped at £10.
Worked example. A player deposits £20 via Boku at MyStake: casino balance £20, phone bill £20, total cost £20. The same player deposits £20 via MuchBetter after funding the wallet by card: wallet fee 0%, casino balance £20, later withdrawal of £100 costs £1.40. Effective cost per £100 moved: £0 for deposit, £1.40 for exit.
Are there deposit minimums that differ from card?
Minimum deposits at offshore sites range from £10 to £20. Boku and Payforit transactions are typically capped at a £10 minimum because the carrier's billing system rejects smaller amounts. Card deposits start at £10 across MyStake, Goldenbet and Donbet. Crypto deposits have no meaningful floor, often 0.0001 BTC or equivalent.
What happens when a deposit fails?
Failed carrier-billed deposits occur at roughly 6–9% of attempts, according to Boku's own published merchant data, driven by insufficient prepaid credit, network timeouts and carrier-side blocks on gambling merchants. Three UK networks, EE, Vodafone and Three, allow gambling charges by default; O2 requires the account holder to enable premium content explicitly.
The player experience of a failed deposit is unremarkable: a text message confirms rejection, no funds move, and the casino balance stays unchanged. Where it becomes costly is repeated attempts against a bonus-qualifying deposit window. Some operators expire promotional eligibility 7 days after registration regardless of deposit status.
Which casinos tie bonuses to specific payment methods?
Exclusions are common. MyStake excludes Skrill and Neteller from its welcome bonus but permits Boku. Goldenbet's terms list no payment exclusions for the first deposit offer. Donbet excludes e-wallets entirely from its 120% match. NineWin permits all methods. Reading clause 4.2 of the terms before depositing takes about ninety seconds and prevents most disputes.
| Operator | Bonus eligible via Boku? | Wagering requirement | Max cashout from bonus |
|---|---|---|---|
| MyStake | Yes | 30x deposit + bonus | 15x bonus |
| Goldenbet | Yes | 35x bonus | No stated cap |
| Donbet | Yes | 30x deposit + bonus | 10x bonus |
| NineWin | Yes | 40x bonus | 5x bonus |
| Velobet | Yes (wallet only) | 35x bonus | 20x bonus |
| Rolletto | Yes | 40x deposit + bonus | Not stated |
| Fat Pirate | Yes | 30x bonus | 10x bonus |
| Kinghills | Yes | 35x deposit + bonus | 20x bonus |
The wagering arithmetic is worth doing once. A £100 deposit with a 100% match and 30x wagering on deposit plus bonus requires £6,000 of qualifying bets before withdrawal. On a slot with 96% return to player, expected loss over that volume is £240. The bonus has a negative expected value under those terms; it functions as playing time, not as a monetary edge.
Self-Exclusion, Player Protection and Offshore Reality
Does GamStop cover non GamStop casinos?
No. GamStop is a free service funded by UKGC-licensed operators, covering roughly 440,000 registered users as of its 2024 annual report. Participation is voluntary for operators and mandatory only for those holding a British licence. Offshore sites have no technical or legal obligation to check the register, and their registration flows do not query it.
Players who have self-excluded through GamStop and then register at a Curaçao-licensed site are not in breach of any rule. The exclusion simply does not extend that far. This is the central design limitation of a national scheme in a market with open international advertising.
What alternatives exist for players who want exclusion from offshore sites?
Three mechanisms operate independently of GamStop. BeGambleAware and GamCare provide counselling and can assist with direct operator requests. Gamban and BetBlocker are commercial and free blocking software respectively; BetBlocker reports covering over 90,000 domains including offshore operators. Credit-card blocks through Experian, Equifax or TransUnion add a further financial layer.
Self-exclusion registers that do reach offshore brands are rare. A handful of MGA-licensed operators honour the MGA's own self-exclusion tool, but coverage is inconsistent. Curaçao-licensed sites have no equivalent register at all, a gap the Curaçao Gaming Authority has discussed since the 2023 licensing reform but has not closed.
How do complaints against offshore operators resolve?
The standard route is the operator's internal complaints procedure, usually with a 7-day response window. Escalation goes to the licensing authority. MGA complaint handling averages 20 working days for a first response. Curaçao's process is less formalised; the authority publishes no service-level figures, and most disputes are settled, if at all, through the operator's own support escalation.
ADR bodies authorised by the UKGC, such as eCOGRA, IBAS and the Independent Betting Adjudication Service, have jurisdiction only over UKGC licensees. A player depositing by Boku at a Curaçao-licensed casino has no access to IBAS. The practical recourse is a chargeback through the mobile network for carrier-billed transactions within 120 days, though networks treat gambling charges inconsistently.
What responsible gambling tools do these sites provide?
Deposit limits, loss limits, session reminders and cooling-off periods are present at most offshore operators, usually under a "responsible gaming" tab in the account settings. Reality checks at 60-minute intervals are standard at MGA-licensed sites. Curaçao-licensed operators are not required to provide them, though many implement them to satisfy payment partners.
Self-exclusion at site level is available everywhere. The limitation is scope: excluding yourself from MyStake does nothing about Goldenbet, Donbet or the other 40 sites you might hold accounts with. Offshore self-exclusion is per-property, not per-person.
Is the advertising of these casinos lawful in the UK?
Advertising a gambling service to consumers in Great Britain without a UKGC licence contravenes section 33 of the Gambling Act 2005. The Advertising Standards Authority upheld complaints against offshore operators in 14 cases during 2024, issuing rulings against brands advertising through affiliate networks. Enforcement remains sporadic, and the operators' response is typically to change the domain rather than the offer.
Comparative Metrics and Market Positioning
How do offshore pay-by-phone sites compare on key metrics?
The table below consolidates publicly stated figures from operator terms pages and payment provider documentation, checked in February 2026. Where an operator publishes no figure, the cell reads "not stated" rather than an estimate.
| Operator | Min deposit | Withdrawal time (e-wallet) | Game providers | Live chat hours |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MyStake | £10 | 24–72h | 60+ | 24/7 |
| Goldenbet | £10 | 48h | 55+ | 24/7 |
| Donbet | £10 | 24h | 50+ | 24/7 |
| NineWin | £10 | 24h | 45+ | 08:00–00:00 CET |
| Velobet | £20 | 1–3 days | 60+ | 24/7 |
| Rolletto | £10 | 0–24h crypto | 70+ | 24/7 |
| Fat Pirate | £10 | 48h | 40+ | 24/7 |
| Kinghills | £10 | 24h | 55+ | 24/7 |
| Seven Casino | £20 | 72h | 45+ | 10:00–22:00 CET |
| Robocat | £10 | 48h | 35+ | 24/7 |
What distinguishes the UKGC-licensed cohort?
Sky Vegas casino, bet365 casino, Gala Bingo, JackpotJoy, Double Bubble Bingo, Heart Bingo, Rainbow Riches Casino, MrQ casino, Virgin Games casino and talkSPORT BET all operate under UKGC licences with mandatory GamStop participation. Their payment pages offer debit cards, PayPal, Apple Pay and bank transfer. None accept carrier billing.
RTP reporting under the UKGC's transparency requirement shows published return figures for every title, updated quarterly. Offshore sites carry the same provider titles but are not obliged to publish per-game RTP, and where they do, the figures are drawn from the provider's default configuration rather than a jurisdiction-specific setting.
Which payment methods bridge both markets?
Cryptocurrency sits partly outside both regulatory regimes. Bitcoin, Ethereum, USDT and Litecoin deposits are accepted at most offshore operators and at no UKGC-licensed casino, since the UKGC does not permit crypto as a deposit method. E-wallets like MuchBetter and MiFinity appear on offshore sites; PayPal and Apple Pay appear on UKGC sites.
Prepaid vouchers occupy the middle ground. Paysafecard can be purchased at UK retail outlets including PayPoint and Tesco, then redeemed offshore. The voucher route bypasses the carrier-billing ceiling entirely, allowing deposits of £250–£1,000 per code while remaining technically a mobile purchase if bought through the Paysafecard app.
What are the tax and reporting implications for UK players?
UK gambling winnings are not subject to income tax for the player under current HMRC guidance, regardless of whether the operator holds a UKGC or offshore licence. There is no declaration requirement for personal winnings. The operator's own corporate tax position is a separate matter, and several offshore brands structure through entities in Curaçao, Cyprus or the Isle of Man.
How has the segment changed between 2023 and 2026?
Three measurable shifts. Curaçao's licensing reform, effective September 2023, introduced a formal application process and a transitional window that closed in mid-2025, consolidating roughly 12,000 legacy sub-licence holders into a smaller pool of direct licensees. The number of offshore casinos advertising Boku deposits to UK audiences fell by an estimated third between 2023 and 2025 as payment partners tightened merchant onboarding.
Simultaneously, wallet-based routes grew. MuchBetter reported a 40% increase in gambling-sector transaction volume across 2024, and MiFinity added GBP as a supported currency in 2024. The deposit method mix at offshore sites has shifted from roughly 70% direct carrier billing in 2022 to an estimated 40% carrier billing and 60% wallet or voucher by early 2026.
FAQ
Are non GamStop pay by phone casinos legal in the UK?
Playing at them is not illegal for the individual. Operating and advertising them to British consumers without a UKGC licence breaches section 33 of the Gambling Act 2005. Player winnings remain untaxed under HMRC rules. The legal exposure sits with the operator, not the depositor, which is why these sites continue to accept UK traffic.
What is the maximum I can deposit by phone at a casino?
Direct carrier billing through Boku or Payforit is capped at £30 per transaction by the Phone-paid Services Authority. Higher amounts require a voucher route such as Neosurf or Paysafecard at £250 per code, or an e-wallet like MuchBetter or MiFinity, which allow deposits of £1,000 to £2,500 per day.
Can GamStop users register at these casinos?
Yes. Offshore operators do not query the GamStop register, so a self-excluded player can open an account and deposit without restriction. Players seeking genuine exclusion from these sites should combine BetBlocker or Gamban software with credit-card blocks and direct requests to each operator's support team.
Do pay by phone deposits qualify for welcome bonuses?
At most offshore operators, yes. MyStake, Goldenbet, Donbet, NineWin, Rolletto and Fat Pirate all permit Boku deposits to trigger the first-deposit offer. Some exclude e-wallets rather than carrier billing. Always check clause 4.2 of the terms, and remember that wagering of 30x to 40x applies before any withdrawal.
How long do withdrawals take from these casinos?
E-wallet withdrawals are quoted at 24 to 72 hours across the operators listed above, after a pending period of 24 to 48 hours. Bank transfers add 3 to 5 business days. Carrier-billed deposits cannot be reversed to the phone bill, so withdrawals are paid by bank transfer, e-wallet or cryptocurrency instead.
Which licence offers the strongest player protection?
The MGA licence carries mandatory player-fund segregation, a formal complaints process averaging 20 working days, and a self-exclusion tool. Curaçao's reformed licence, effective since 2023, requires audited RNG testing but has no player register. A UKGC licence provides the fullest protection but its operators do not accept phone-billed deposits.
Is there a fee for using pay by phone at casinos?
The deposit itself carries no fee from Boku or Payforit; the charge equals the amount deposited. Costs appear elsewhere: voucher retail markups of 2 to 7%, e-wallet withdrawal fees of 1.4 to 1.8%, and currency conversion of roughly 2 to 3% if the operator settles in EUR or USD rather than GBP.
What happens if a pay by phone deposit fails?
No funds move. The carrier rejects the transaction, a confirmation text arrives, and the casino balance is unchanged. Failure rates run at 6 to 9% of attempts, usually from insufficient prepaid credit or an O2 account without premium content enabled. Repeated failures do not affect bonus eligibility unless the promotional window expires.
The segment exists because a national self-exclusion register cannot bind operators outside its jurisdiction, and because carrier billing offers a deposit route that British-licensed sites have deliberately abandoned. Both conditions hold in 2026, and the market continues accordingly.
Players weighing these options should verify the licence number on the operator's footer, read the wagering clause before depositing, and set limits at the account level rather than relying on any external scheme to do it for them. that suits their own spending patterns, since no register outside GamStop will enforce it on their behalf.